Election 2011

Election 2011/12

The Argyle Fans’ Trust recently held an election for seats on the Society Board.

Eight candidates put themselves forward, of which six were elected to the Board. The Result of the Poll was announced on February 7th.

At next year’s election, three of the six posts will be contested, with three of the current Board serving their full two-year term.


Voters were invited to ask questions of the Election 2012 candidates during a two-week open question and answer period. A selection of questions and the candidates’ answers were collated. You can read the sample of responses here.

Election Documents

The Election Management Group (EMG)

The role of the Election Management Group was to ensure that the election was run in accordance with the Election Rules Policy. In order to maintain the integrity of the election process, the Chair of the EMG was an independent person who was not a member of the Acting Society Board and members of the EMG were not eligible to nominate candidates nor be a candidate themselves.

The EMG was comprised of its Chair, Adrian Green, Trust Secretary Laura Starr and Sally Snow.

Key Dates

Friday 2nd December: Date by which those wishing to stand or vote in the election must have been members.

Monday 12th December: Start of Election Period. This is the day when the EMG called for nominations and candidate statements. The “Notice of Election” was publicised via the usual methods (Pasoti, website, press) on this day.

Saturday 31st December: Deadline for nominations.

Monday 9th January: Candidates’ statements published on the website. Ballot papers posted out.

Monday 6th February: Closing date for return of ballot papers.

Tuesday 7th February: Announcement of result.

Friday 11th February: Deadline for appeals.